iPad 3

The word is out: March 7 will be the date when Apple, Inc. will reveal the next iPad, presumably to be called the iPad 3. It sounds like the new iteration of this magical device will sport a higher definition display and a faster processor.

As the user of an original iPad, I’m thinking that this might be the time to upgrade. I have noticed that at times my iPad seems to do things a little more slowly than newer models. It is not a huge bother, though. A nicer display is, well, nice. I don’t know, however, that it would be enough to justify the upgrade. The desire to not be seen toting older technology may be the only justification I can come up with.

Still, we will see what the new specs are and what the new device can do that my iPad can’t. Speed isn’t a huge issue since I do a lot of reading on my iPad—and a faster processor won’t make me read any faster. I don’t need a camera (although doing Face Time on my iPad would be a nice plus) since I have the terrific camera in the iPhone 4S. If there’s something really new, cool and useful, I may find myself unable to resist the urge.

What would you need to see on the iPad 3 to justify purchasing a new one?

Leave a Reply

