Forgot to attach a file?

Argh! @($&!#$ I forgot to attach the $(!@#$&* file to that email!

I’m sure my readers never say things like that. I usually don’t—at least not when I forget to attach a file to an email. (When I hit my head on something, that’s a different story.)

As a colleague of mine remarked the other day (after I forgot to add an attachment), if I had a dollar for every time I’ve forgotten to attach the file…well, I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog post.

Last week I ran across a plugin for Apple’s Mail app in OS X. ForgetMeNot is a simple tool that scans your message for words like “attached.” If it finds one, but then notices there’s no attachment, it bugs you so you remember to attach the file before you send the message.

The plugin is dirt cheap at just a handful of Euros. If you’re reading this before September 14, 2012, it’s even on sale as part of a promotion of several Mail add-ons. There are plenty of other good utilities on sale, so be sure to check them out.

Leave a Reply

