Why LinkedIn is becoming an annoyance

Well, perhaps calling LinkedIn an annoyance is unfair. But some of its users are definitely becoming an annoyance.

I don’t know about anyone else, but in the last few weeks I’ve seen a marked increase in the number of invitations to connect that come from people I do not know. Not only do I not know them, I can’t figure out how I would even be connected to them.

Sadly, some people don’t “get” LinkedIn. Users should not be trying to accumulate as many connections as possible. This isn’t Twitter. The number of your connections does not matter. The quality of your connections is what matters. Being linked to someone you’ve never met, never exchanged emails with, never even exchanged tweets with is meaningless.

Don’t get me wrong. I love to receive invitations from users on LinkedIn. But I will accept only those that I can see a connection with. Maybe we’ve been affiliated with the same non-profit organization in different roles. Even if our paths never actually crossed, I’ll probably accept the invitation. If we’ve met at a conference and I could pick you out of a crowd later (meaning we had a good interaction, more than just nodding as we pass in a hallway at the expo), I’ll accept the invitation. Of course, it goes without saying that if we’ve done business together (even as opposing counsel in hard-fought cases), I’ll accept the invitation.

But there are two instances where I won’t accept the invite: if I have no idea who you are or how you might be connected to me, or if I think you’re a crook and others hold that opinion. I don’t want to be connected to crooks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

