Turn off automatic app updates in iOS 7?

When Apple announced iOS 7, I was intrigued by the idea of having apps update automatically in the background. At last, no more red badges on the App Store icon to tell me things needed to be updated.

Having had the release version of iOS 7 for a little while now, I’ve turned that feature off. Why? So I can find out when there’s a new version of an app with new features. Most app updates are incremental, containing bug fixes and the like. But some app updates include new features that I might not know about for a while.

By turning off the automatic updates, I know when an app has new features and I can decide whether to go play with them.

Leave a Reply

